Fellowships and Grants

Section 1

Section content

Tuition and Fee Waivers

TA and RA appointments and some fellowships include tuition and service-fee waivers. Students receiving such waivers through the spring semester are exempt from tuition and service fees through the summer session unless they hold summer appointments of less than 25 percent or more than 67 percent time.

Each year in a campuswide competition the Graduate College awards some tuition and fee waivers besides those awarded in connection with fellowships and assistantships. These waivers provide exemption from tuition and service fees (but not from the insurance, health-center, computer and general fees) for the academic year and immediately preceding or following summer session. Students holding waivers must be in residence and must register for at least three units each semester during the academic year and 1.5 units in the summer. They may accept part-time hourly or incidental employment for up to twenty hours a week, inside or outside the University. Tuition and fee waivers are not taxed.

Veterans who meet certain residence requirements may be exempt from tuition under the state statute concerning military scholarships. Obtain further information from the Director of Student Financial Aid, on the 4th Floor of the Student Services Building, 610 East John Street, Champaign, Illinois 61820.

The Geisert Fellowship

Established in 1965 in a bequest from Harold L. Geisert to honor Sociology Professor Ernest T. Hiller, the Geisert Fellowship supports especially promising sociology dissertations. This award is given to a student preparing a dissertation with important theoretical concerns. Candidates should submit five copies of the dissertation proposal to the Awards Committee by the announced deadline date (usually about February 15). Proposals must be double-spaced and no more than 20 pages of text and use ASR reference and footnote style. List the chairperson of the dissertation committee and if the cooperation of particular populations, departments, or agencies is necessary, include written agreements to such cooperation. Evaluation criteria include (1) theoretical relevance and imagination (the proposal must demonstrate the dissertation's relevance to sociological theory and the ability to use theoretical argument imaginatively), (2) methodological excellence (the proposal must include a detailed specification of a research design and study design so raters can evaluate whether the proposed investigation can be done and about how long it should take; if relevant, the proposal must state testable hypotheses that derive from the theoretical framework), (3) stage of development of the proposal, and (4) the applicants' academic record. Ordinarily a Geisert Fellow will not have other employment during the fellowship year. The award may be renewed once; a candidate requesting renewal must submit a brief report of the progress made during the first award year. The award will include a tuition and service-fee waiver, but not the insurance, health-center and computer and general fees. Due to limited funds, the Geisert Award may not be given every year.

W. E. B. Du Bois Graduate Research Paper Award

The W. E. B. Du Bois Graduate Research Paper Award consists of an award of $100 for the most outstanding essay in the past year by a sociology graduate student, on a topic related to the subject of race and/or ethnicity in North America or anywhere in the world. Three copies of the paper should be handed into the Departmental office (3116 Lincoln Hall). A panel drawn from faculty active in the area of Race and Ethnicity, Class and Community, will judge the papers.

Harvey Choldin Paper Prize

The Harvey Choldin Paper Prize consists of $100 and a certificate for the best paper of the past year by a Sociology graduate student on urban sociology. A panel of faculty will judge the papers.

Excellence in Undergraduate Instruction Prize

The Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Instruction is given annually to the best instructor among Sociology Ph.D. students. The prize consists of $100 and a certificate. Criteria include teaching experience, evaluations by undergraduate students, faculty recommendations, and the candidate's statement of teaching philosophy. Nominations will be accepted from undergraduate students, graduate students and faculty in the Department of Sociology. Persons nominated will be asked to supply a short description of their teaching philosophy.

The Castor Award

The Castor Award honors the department's long-time secretary, Mrs. Elma Castor, for her concern for graduate students. Small awards may be made annually to assist graduate student publication efforts.

Additional awards for graduate students are also available from regional and national associations. These are announced in the Department's weekly newsletter, as well as in the newsletters of the various associations.